Archbishop Carroll inducted thirty students into the National Honor Society (NHS) last week. The ceremony took place on Thursday evening, November 11, 2019. The NHS inductees for the Class of 2020 and 2021 are:  Erin Boyle ‘20, Bowen Chen ‘20, Jiaao Gong ‘20, Chi Li ‘20, Victoria Louis ‘20, Kyle Ly ‘20, Gianna Mehl ‘20, Jiayi Yang ’20, Judith Butler ‘21, Jacky Chen ‘21, Cecilia Cherico ‘21, Kayla DeMola ‘21, Grace DiMascio ‘21, Maria Englert ‘21, Juan Espinoza ‘21, Elizabeth Fry ‘21, Mirabelle Gallagher ‘21, Schuyler Gock ‘21, Robin Higgins ‘21, Sarah Hurd ‘21, Morgan McFarlan ‘21, Hailey Nord ‘21, Maria Organ ‘21, Nicole Pawelec ‘21, Sofia Petroccia ‘21, Theresa Pham ‘21, Ryan Sharkey ‘21, Sophia Spurio ‘21, Charles Wallgren ‘21, Michael Young ‘21.

The evening began with Principal Dr. Anchen Schultz welcoming all in attendance. Following a choral performance of Ave Maria, the NHS pins were blessed. NHS President Jason Abiuso ‘20 then gave a poignant speech about the resiliency of the Archbishop Carroll Community. “If you are sitting in this auditorium, it means that we fully believe you can be a light in the darkness. When other people are struggling, you can comfort them. When tragedy strikes, you can be strong for those who can’t. I am calling on each of you to be so much more than a first honors student. I am calling on you to serve your fellow classmates. I am calling on you to build your character and strength to be able to lead our community to a brighter tomorrow.”

Following the candle lighting ceremony, proclamation of new NHS members, roll call of the present NHS members, and the NHS pledge, Mrs. Lauren Mauger was introduced as the evening’s honored speaker. Mrs. Mauger also emphasized the importance of community. “To be a NHS member is not just about a title to place on a college resume, but a call to help your peers…show kindness to everyone, not just friends,” said Mauger.

The evening closed with President Francis Fox’s congratulations to all NHS inductees and optimism for a bright future. We welcome you to share in our congratulations!