Emma Sutter ’20 and Mia Arpea ’22 were announced the scholarship winners of The Barry Kirsch Scholarship for Distinguished Service and The Dominic L. Coyle Memorial Scholarship for the 2019-2020 school year during the closing Mass of the school year.

The Barry Kirsch Scholarship for Distinguished Service was established in 2017 through funds raised by the Carroll Hall of Fame event. Named for Mr. Kirsch, this $5,000 scholarship is meant to recognize a rising senior who exhibits talent and a dedication to promoting the culture of life through service and other activities, just as Barry Kirsch has in his years as a teacher at Carroll.

Emma Sutter ’20 was enthusiastically nominated by several faculty members and administrators to receive The Barry Kirsch Scholarship. She is a member of the field hockey team, CSC, a student council officer, a member of the Pro-Life Club, Best Buddies, and a student ambassador. She is a wonderful representative of Carroll and the Carroll Cares culture.

The Dominic L. Coyle Memorial Scholarship was established by Dominic’s friends and family in recognition of the life and talent he brought to his beloved Carroll community.

Dominic would have graduated with the Class of 2017. He personified what it means to be engaged in the world. His outreach to his peers, to his community and to anyone whose path he crossed resonated and remains with them. Dominic was known for his love of life, and his kindness. It is these qualities that his family and friends hope to inspire in other young men and women with the award of this scholarship.

This is a $3,000 annual scholarship is presented to a rising sophomore for their sophomore, junior and senior years. The recipient will demonstrate a desire to actively participate through Academics, Arts and Service in the Carroll community as well as their local/parish community. They must have a minimum GPA of 3.0 and be involved in extracurricular activities with an Arts and/or Service focus.

Mia Arpea ’22, an active member of ACTS, the PatrioTHON committee, Best Buddies, Select Chorus, and the Carroll tennis team, was the deserving recipient of the Dominic L. Coyle Memorial Scholarship. She is also a member of the Saint Simon and Jude Church choir, girl’s scouts and volunteers at several organizations in her community.

Ms. Arpea expressed her gratitude and noted the honor and privilege she felt for being named the recipient of the Dominic L. Coyle Scholarship. “I have been given the responsibility to follow in the footsteps of Dominic Coyle, someone who is a true inspiration to me and to many others.”

Well done, Emma and Mia! We are very proud!